Ballyconnell, Falcarragh, Co. Donegal
074 9165416

Our AGM on Friday night commenced with the sad news of the passing of our course designer, Micheal Doherty. Michael spent many days and hours in the early nineties planning and developing what is now a very fine nine-hole golf course. He looked on it as a labour of love and was quietly very pleased with the final outcome. As someone very closely involved with him I can clearly state that he was the easiest course designer to pay in the country. On visits to him later in life he always asked about the course, members he remembered and never forgot the skilful  “man on the digger”. The club will forever be indebted to him and may the soul of this gentle caring man rest in peace, We offer our sympathies and gratitude to Veronica and all the Doherty family.

In the earthly world of AGM’s we are all delighted to have Noel Ó Gallchóir as our captain in 2017 ably assisted by James Collum who will be club president.
Most other positions have just changed hands.  The meeting congratulated Neil Gallagher, outgoing captain, on a job very well done and acknowledged the efforts he made to get the club on a sounder financial path.The AGM was the place to air views and ideas and to those who turned up, thanks for the effort and commitment to the future of the club.
Thanks to the great November weather the course is in great condition and it was delightful to be able to play our Christmas Hamper on our own course over the week-end. With teeing up and a very calm Sunday there was always a big score on the cards. Owenie Mg Gee’s 41 looked ok  until Francis Boyle arrrived in with 43.  They say, Neil Gallagher, who finally appeared with 45 is still smiling. Nonqualifying it was, but Hugo who is handicap secretary for another year has another wee note for his book.
There will be another turkey competition next Sunday with a Gaeltacht match against Dunfanaghy on Saturday commencing 8 .00am.
Please make every effort asap to get part of next year’s payment , minimum of €150, paid in immediately and certainly by next Sunday. The full committee for 2017 is as follows:
Captain: Noel O Gallchóir
President: James Collum
Secretary: Patsy Mc Vicar
Treasurer: Neil Gallagher
Competition Secretary: Gerry Coffey
Handicap Secretary: Hugo Cannon
Youth Officer: Gerry Doohan
Clubhouse Convenor: Neil Gallagher
Greens Convenor: Vincent Collum
Membership Secretary: Vincent Collum
PRO: Micheal Murray
Committee: Chris Mc Callion, Denis Boyle, Francis Boyle, Owenie Mc Gee
Vice Captains , Hugo Cannon and after that in no particular order the men of Frances, Rose, Gracie